Error: You do not have permission to begin a remote session from this Moodle hub.

Error: You do not have permission to begin a remote session from this Moodle hub.

Tom Hogan -
Atsakymų skaičius: 4
I have set up two Moodle sites on the same server to network, as per the instructions.
When I am logged in as an administrator, I can roam just fine between the two (getting a duplicate user in each Moodle).

I then assigned the Student role the permission to roam, and tested.
Got this error message:
"You do not have permission to begin a remote session from this Moodle hub."

The student user I am testing with is enrolled in one course in Moodle A and cannot reach Moodle B.

Then I thought maybe the student role only applies to courses and not the entire site (incl networking) so I gave this test user the global role of Student in Moodle A. Still the same message.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
Įvertinimų vidurkis: -
Atsakymas į Tom Hogan

Re: Error: You do not have permission to begin a remote session from this Moodle hub.

Donal McMullan -
Hi Tom - the administrator will have been granted permission to roam to other Moodles by virtue of the special "Allowed to do everything" permission (moodle/site:doanything).

Other users will have to be assigned a role that has the "Roam to a remote Moodle" permission (moodle/site:mnetlogintoremote). The easiest way to assign this, is to give it to the "Logged in user role", but of course your requirements may be more granular than this.

So - if it's a roles/permissions issue, this should fix it.

The error message you're reporting can only eventuate if:
  • The user doesn't have permission to roam
  • The user is a remote user who has already roamed to your Moodle
  • The user's username is the literal string 'guest'
  • The user's ID is not set (which can't be the case here)
Of these issues, "inadequate permissions" is the one most likely to be causing your problem.

Cheers - Donal
Atsakymas į Donal McMullan