Writing an activity that sequences other activities/resources

Writing an activity that sequences other activities/resources

by Nathaniel Titterton -
Number of replies: 3
I'm relatively new to moodle, having working closely with a home grown LCMS that we been using to teach higher ed programming courses. We are hoping moodle can help get us out of the LMS development world and let us focus on activity and curriculum design. That is, if we can get moodle to do what we want, we would love to scrap our code and move to moodle.

Our system is somewhat LAMS like, in that students work through sequences of activities. And perhaps SCORM like, although collaborative activities are a big part of our courses.

At any rate, sequences are key: a course is one big (500+ activity) sequence, that we break down around 25+ sessions that students are supposed to do in one sitting. A bigger session might have 30 separate activities, organized into a heirarchy. That is, there might be 4-5 activity groups each with 5-6 activities within a session.

We realize that we can get somewhat close to this behavior with a standard moodle, indenting resources/activities to get our session/topic/activity like heirarchy. Things would get unweildy for the students, given the size of the sequences, in the center frame of the course portal. And, unweildy for the instructor to manage so many activities.

The multi-step activites (I skimmed lesson and project) don't offer the range of activities that we want.