Problems adding teachers to metacourse

Problems adding teachers to metacourse

by Howard Miller -
Number of replies: 4
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
I am trying to (as administrator) add a non-editing teacher to a metacourse. I am getting the message

"Can not assign this role to user "Fred" because Manage metacourse capability is needed."

The message isn't very helpful as it doesn't say who needs the ability. I am an administrator, so I can't believe it should be me smile

I found the 'manage metacourse' capability, but the help for that says:

"This allows a user to manage a metacourse"

...which isn't really help at all sad Can somebody enlighten me what is going on here? As usual, I will try and improve the help when I figure it out!

EDIT:

Weirder and weirder. There were already people in this role in the metacourse. I tried to remove one at random and got:

"Role of user "Charley" was automatically reassigned, please unassign the role in child courses instead."

Anyone explain, please ?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Howard Miller

Re: Problems adding teachers to metacourse

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Ok - got it I think. You need to assing in the "source" course and the roles cascade to the children.

I think the problem here is actually the messages that are displayed give you no clue.
In reply to Howard Miller

by Demetri Orlando -
Not sure what you mean "assign the 'source' course"... can someone please explain?
In reply to Demetri Orlando

by Glenys Hanson -
Hi Howard and Demetri,

This is how I do it:

I create courses A, B and C each with their own students and teachers.