mimeTeX's rendering not working

mimeTeX's rendering not working

by Kendall Eley -
Number of replies: 8

I am new to moodle, and I recently installed it on a site to begin creating some courses.  I have not had any success in getting the mimeTeX's rendering to work.  I tried the test page http://www.teachclassesonline.com/filter/tex/texed.php and it does not work, which leads me to believe that something is not installed properly.  I have reset the LaTeX rendering settings and do not get any better results.

Any suggestions? 

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Kendall Eley

Re: mimeTeX's rendering not working

by Christian Bokhove -
Is the path to Latex correct?
In reply to Christian Bokhove

by Kendall Eley -

I do not know.  The path to Latex BInary is /usr/bin/latex (the default).  How could I check to verify this?  I host on hostgator.com

Thanks for any suggestions you can offer.

In reply to Kendall Eley

by Leonardo Lazarte -
You need to know which is your host's operating system (Windows? Linux? It seems that your provider works with CENTOS, which is a Linux distribution). Then, you need to know if it has LaTeX installed.

IF it was Linux, AND you have access to a shell on the host, then you can issue the command "which latex" and see if LaTeX is installed and where.

Anyway, even if there was no LaTeX at all, the filter should work, by using "mimetex.exe" or "mimetex.linux", automatically (both are included in the default Moodle distribution, in .../moode/filter/tex/).

I have read in this forum that in some Windows installations you should check if mimetex.exe is not corrupted and if it is executable (I do not use Windows).

You could try as well this: http://<your_moodle_installation>/filtex/tex/texdebug.php
I did it, on your site, and the result is:
sh: /home/centralg/public_html/teachclassesonline/filter/tex/mimetex.linux: Permission denied
The shell command