User Management Improvements

User Management Improvements

by Andrei Băutu -
Number of replies: 7
Picture of Plugin developers
Hi.

I'm a GSoC 2007 student. My mentor is Yu Zhang and we're focusing on user management improvements (http://docs.moodle.org/en/Student_projects#User_Management_Improvements).

I've included some goals in the docs page (http://docs.moodle.org/en/Student_projects/User_Management_Improvements) which is still work in progress.

I would appreciate any suggestions and remarks you have on this topics.

Thank you,
Andrei.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Andrei Băutu

回應: User Management Improvements

by HUI CHUN KIT -
Dear all,

I am not sure whether I should post this idea/question here in this forum. I am new to Moodel developement although I've been using it for years.

I do think that we can have improvements in the user management UI. For example, it would be nice to have a common (shared) user selector which allows filtering of user accounts by different criteria. In role assignment (1.8) and groups assignment, we can assign users to roles/groups. However, we can only search by firstname/lastname. I think it would be nice to setup a search UI which allows user search by arbitrary attribute (even User profile fields).

In fact, I am going to implement test in my site. But I am not sure which mode of implementation is the best to the development of Moodle.

Any comments and suggestions?

Cheers,
Jacky Hui

In reply to HUI CHUN KIT

Re: User Management Improvements

by Andrei Băutu -
Good ideea! I'll "study" the problem and let you know how it is going. Meanwhile, if you get something working, please share ;)
Drupal has an additive filter: you can connect different criterias by ORs and ANDs.

Bye,
Andrei
In reply to Andrei Băutu

by Dan Poltawski -