Using Moodle for Train the Trainer course

Using Moodle for Train the Trainer course

by Steve Thomas -
Number of replies: 2

I'm not too familiar with Moodle, so bear with me.  I'm an Emergency Care Instructor Trainer, running a small training center.(myself, my daughter, and a few independent instructors).  We teach things like CPR, First Aid, etc., most of which are very short (1/2 to 1 day) courses.  I teach a lot of Instructor Development Courses to train instructors, who are mostly independent trainers or in small training centers.  The course is 12 hours or so, with courses for experienced instructors being only 3 hours or so.  Not a long course, and not much money involved.  We do it because it's the right thing to do.

The problem is that the prospective instructors are scattered all over the country.  And since they are mostly part-timers or small entrepreneurs, just the time and expense of travel makes it prohibitive.  They just can't spend $1000 to get trained to teach something that will make them $200/mo.  So I've been looking for a method where I can teach them via distance.  I thought about WebEx or Live Meeting, but that is totally too expensive (a seat in a live meeting costs more than the entire tuition by about 2 times!).

So, is this something I could use Moodle for?  And if so, where do I go to learn more.  I envision a real time (as opposed to an individually paced) course, where I can interact with the students over the course of the 2 days, but with some or all of them not physically present.  I'd also like to make non-real time courses for renewals, where they just check in and complete the course when it's time.

Thoughts?

Steve Thomas

AlertCPR Emergency Training

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Steve Thomas

Re: Using Moodle for Train the Trainer course

by Lori Cheezem -
Hi Steve,