Dates in Japanese

Dates in Japanese

by Paul Shew -
Number of replies: 2
I'm setting up a Moodle server to facilitate the courses I'll be teaching this coming academic year in Japan. I've found solutions to most problems I've come across, but the display of DATES is a problem.

I've set the locale to ja_JP.eucjp, so now they display in Japanese order, but it's still missing some characters.
Now, it displays like this: 4 2月 2003
It should display like this: 4日2月2003年

In Japanese, we don't need the spaces, but we do need the characters for day and year.

Is this a problem with settings on my server, or is it a problem with Moodle's code?

My server is still experimental, and I'm just learning how to use it, but here's the link: http://ac.shew.jp
Check NEWS to see an example.

I know that Martin is busy writing his dissertation, so I'm hoping someone else can help. wink
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Paul Shew

Re: Dates in Japanese

by Paul Shew -
Well, it's my first time to "look under the hood" so to speak, but I've made some progress.

I tracked down the function that defines the date string within /lib/mooodlelib.php.

I changed the following two lines of the userdate fuction from
$format      = "%A, %d %B %Y, %I:%M %p";
$formatnoday = "%A, DD %B %Y, %I:%M %p";
to
$format      = "%Y年%b%d日(%a) %H:%M";
$formatnoday = "%Y年%bDD日(%a) %H:%M";
I also wanted to use a 24 hour clock, so you'll notice that changed as well.

The character encoding is EUC.

NOTES: Both %b and %B produce the same format in Japanese(2月), which includes the character for month. %m results in the integer, which would make it consistant with the day and year, but it also includes the leading zero. So the simplest solution is to use %b or %B and then omit the character for month from the format. Since it's dependent upon the current locale set with setlocale(), I can't guarantee it will work on all systems.

You can see it on my site: ac.shew.jp
In reply to Paul Shew

Re: Dates in Japanese