Questions regarding 1.9 and blogs

Questions regarding 1.9 and blogs

by Martin Samuelsson -
Number of replies: 2
First, my apologies if this is not quite the right forum. I've looked around, and couldn't find anything else that seemed to work for these particular questions.

I'm working for a Swedish company, TakeIT, managing a customer's Moodle site. The thing is that this particular customer likes blogs, and more or less want to center part of its activities around them, but with the addition of comments, permalinks, ping/trackback and stuff like that.

If I understand things correctly, these things are supposed to be added to the blog system in 1.9. Now, is there anything we can do to help towards the inclusion of such a system into Moodle proper? I'm a programmer, and can offer work as well as discussion. Is there any development being done on the 1.9 style blogs, or are the wiki wishlist http://docs.moodle.org/en/Development:Blogs and the 2006-2007 discussions in Using Moodle: Blogs http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=44830 "all there is"?

/Sam
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Martin Samuelsson

Re: Questions regarding 1.9 and blogs

by sam marshall -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
If you have development time spare that could be great.

We (The Open University) have a bunch of requirements including the ones mentioned. We are planning to outsource the major work [blog comments, categorisation e.g. post to your personal blog but not course blog] to moodle.com for inclusion in 1.9 plus a patch to 1.8 (since we are still running 1.8). I think these tasks are significant/complex enough that they really need to be dealt with closely by moodle.com.