view.php programming question

view.php programming question

by Deleted user -
Number of replies: 3

I'm just learning to program in php, and hope some of you 'programmers' out there can answer a couple of my questions...

1) What sort of limit is there on arrays? Is it memory specific? Does php impose a hard limit on the number of elements that an array can contain?

2) In the mod/quiz/view.php file, whenever I click on a Quiz, and get the screen that shows previous attempts (if any) and the attempt quiz now button (if available), the $id parameter is passed into the file (ex: http://mysite.com/mod/quiz/view.php?id=63). I understand exactly how this works ($id), and how it relates to each Quiz in the database. When you look at the code for view.php, it also allows you pass in the $q parameter instead of the $id parameter. I also completely understand how this works ($q), and how it relates to each Quiz in the databse. My question is this... WHEN is the $q parameter used? Where would I be coming from in Moodle, that would use $q instead of $id? In all cases that I can find, Moodle always passes the $id into view.php.

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Deleted user

Re: view.php programming question

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
1) The only limit on arrays is the memory of the computer it is running on (that is your web server). Except that it would be dangerous if one web page request could use all the memory on the server, so actually, PHP imposes a limit on itself. See: http://uk2.php.net/manual/en/ini.core.php#ini.memory-limit. You don't need to worry about this however. The limit is always much bigger than you need. I don't think I have every hit it.

2) Looking at view.php for a quiz you can edit, click on the edit tab, then back to the info tab.