backups taking a LONG time and killing the system resources.

backups taking a LONG time and killing the system resources.

by Adam Lambert -
Number of replies: 7
Ok, I am brand new at this, and an inheritor of all that came before me at this job, so bear with me a little please.

Moodle backups appear to be going into an infinite loop and thrashing the system almost to death, and running pretty much until I get tired of watching the system thrash and kill them before they complete.

cron.php is being called thusly every 5 minutes:
curl -s -o /dev/null http://www.myschool.com/school/admin/cron.php

Most of the time this goes off without a hitch, but when what I think is the backup module is triggered, I get two hung cronjobs and two apache processes that are just thrashing the box to death as I mentioned earlier.

# strace -p $runaway_apache_PID gets me thousands of pages of lstat64(); working it's way up my moodle directory tree to backuplib.php files and occasionally open()'ing one of them. There are only 16 such backuplib.php on the system - so this is an infinite loop of some kind - is my assumption.

Further indication of an infinite loop, is that this goes on for days (yes, days) if I don't stop it.

A little grep'ing around gets me a bunch of places where backuplib.php is include_once()'d or require_once()'d. Am I to assume that one of these is recursively calling itself?

My moodledata directory is big - about 2 gigs currently - but as this looks like an infinite loop, I'm fairly sure that has nothing to do with what I'm seeing here.

Anyone who's willing to help, I'm more than happy to provide any debugging info that may help with this. Just speak in small words, and pretend you're talking to a guy who knows nothing about Moodle, but tons about sysadmin stuff. smile

Thanks all.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Adam Lambert

Re: backups taking a LONG time and killing the system resources.

by Adam Lambert -
Hrmmm... more interesting stuff to note.