Table 'mdl___________' already exists

Table 'mdl___________' already exists

by Scott Brubaker -
Number of replies: 28
I am moving from Moodle 1.5 to 1.6 on the way to 1.7. Install seems to go well until the last step where I get serveral "table such and such already exists". Then finally getting a "data tables could NOT be set up successfully!" error. Does this over an over if I click continue. Suggestions?

I read the 1.6 FAQ, so I don't think its a matter of updating to UTF8 becuase that is done after the 1.6 setup is complete right?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Scott Brubaker

Re: Table 'mdl___________' already exists

by dennis mr. -
try flushing the database...but do not flush the privileges
In reply to dennis mr.

by Scott Brubaker -
I'm a real newbie so you'll have to feed me here. How do I do that? Do this before I start the update to 1.6 correct?
In reply to dennis mr.

by Scott Brubaker -
dennis

can you tell me how to flush the tables in MySQL v5?

by Scott Brubaker -
I tried this using the command below. Still no luck.

mysqladmin -u root -p flush-tables

by Mauno Korpelainen -

Hi Scott,

I think that message "table ... already exists" means that you are trying to install a table that already exists. It is not the same as upgrading.

An easy way to upgrade is to rename old moodle folder, upload a new moodle folder, copy config.php from old moodle (and upgraded versions of blocks/modules/themes that are not with normal package) to new moodle folder and login as admin (in moodle 1.7 to Notifications)...

In reply to Mauno Korpelainen

by Scott Brubaker -
This is the process I have been trying to perform. In fact I just tried again as a test to make sure. Same problem with tables already existing.

by Mariana Curado Malta -
Hi Scott,

I did a migration exactly the same and didn't have any problem, it went perfect!

Did you do it on the server or in a copy of the server?

If it was done in a copy how did you do the sqldump?

Mariana