General help

Embedded video streaming

Picture of Mariana vd Walt
Embedded video streaming

Hello everyone

I am new to Moodle and trying to embed media files according to what I find in documentation and this forum. I have activated the Media Plugins in administrator->Modules->Activities and checked that the settings are fine.

I am able to embed mp3 files and they stream well. However, when I try to embed flv or mov files it does not work. If I insert the link by choosing spaces, nothing shows, but the browser does indicate for a time that it is transferring data. If I add the link to the media file to text (e.g. "Click here" and set the target to a new window) a new window does open, but instead of seeing the video I see squiggles all over the page. This happens with both mov and flv files. (Both of these play fine outside of Moodle).

I am using Moodle 1.7.1+

Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks
Mariana

Average of ratings: -
Wellingtonia Tree
Re: Embedded video streaming

What browser are you using to view them.
In Moodle 1.5.2 I've noticed that video files play fine in Internet Explorer but don't work in Firefox so it could be a browser issue.

Hello Heather

Thank you for the response. I have tested in Firefox, Maxthon and IE - all of them the latest versions. I have also tested on different work stations to make sure that it is not a setup on the specific workstation that causes the problem.

All I can think is that I am somehow not doing everything required in Moodle, but I am doing everything required according to the documentation (as far as I can tell), as described above.

I attach a file containing a screencopy when I try to stream a flv. It gives this "Loading.." message while indicating in the browser that it is transferring data, and then after some time the browser says "Done" but still displys the same "Loading.." screen on the Moodle page.

Mariana