Need advice on advocating for/demoing Moodle

Need advice on advocating for/demoing Moodle

von Leslie Sandoval -
Anzahl Antworten: 13
I've recently come to find myself in an interesting position as being our Center's Moodle Advocate (thankfully not the advocate for the whole university because this is trying enough). Three months ago I only knew Moodle as, "the pesky thing that replaced WebCT at my husband's university," and suddenly, over the Christmas break, it became a major function of my job.

Needless to say I'm still learning all the ins and outs of Moodle, and I was just notified that I have to give an hour long pitch to one of our major funding agencies on what Moodle is (they've never heard of it) and a brief overview of how to use it.

So here's my question. If you only had an hour to not only highlight Moodle's good points but also give a brief look at how easy it is to use, what would you include? I have a test course set up to show them, and a (rapidly growing) set of handouts that highlights some of the features, as well as a lengthy reference list.

I've looked at several of the demo courses linked from this site, and have read through this forum and a few others but I'm having an information overload at the moment....so as a more seasoned group of advocates, what would you say are the most important points to hit on and what have you had the most success promoting?
Als Antwort auf Leslie Sandoval

Re: Need advice on advocating for/demoing Moodle

von dave cormier -
you are making a pitch of a pedagogical tool to a funding agency? yikes.

A warning... I'm just another user. There are many folks around here with MUCH more experience pitching moodle.