How do I query the Moodle database for outside Moodle?

How do I query the Moodle database for outside Moodle?

by Deleted user -
Number of replies: 10

Okay, I know this are really basic questions for some of you, but I'm new to Moodle and to Databases, and can't find this info in the documentation (honestly, I really looked)...

First of all, where is the database with usernames, passwords and emails usually stored (what directory), and what is the file normally called?

Secondly, how do I "query" this database from outside Moodle? For example, users will pay and signup external to Moodle (we will be setting up external database authentication or LDAP authentication), and I want to be able to check the database (right away) when someone signs up to see if the username & email they choose, is valid.

Thirdly, I have MS-Access, but do I need any other programs in order to "query" the database?

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Deleted user

Re: How do I query the Moodle database for outside Moodle?

by uday ramakrishna -

Hi Jeff,

I am not a pro with this but i will try to fill you in with what best I can. If you have installed moodle on windows using php, apache and mysql then you can use phpmyadmin a web based tool available in the modules and plugins section to view the database and also run sql queries. If you only wish to view the user login then as an admin user under the administration panel you can view the user list which should display the users enrolled and also their email id's.

Hope this gives you a start.

Best Regards

Uday

In reply to uday ramakrishna

by Deleted user -

"...you can use phpmyadmin a web based tool available in the Modules and Plugins section to view the database and also run sql queries."

Yes, I actually installed this yesterday, and have been "browsing" thru the database to find the particular tables I need.