Extreme scalability: Scaling out Moodle

Extreme scalability: Scaling out Moodle

by Martín Langhoff -
Number of replies: 1
I am studying Moodle in the context of a large installation. What I've read so far is quite impressive... there's a lot of discussion covering Moodle performance, mysql and accelerators.

I am keen on hearing feedback on this draft plan. It has the following stages to address increasing server load, and a couple of lingering questions:

- Start with a single server -- tune apache, mysql and persistent db connections.

- Add PHP accelerator software. MMCache seems to have problems, PHP accelerator doesn't (see: http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=4076 ) Question: is MMCache still problematic? Anyone using it successfully?

- Add reverse proxy -- configure aggresively. Question: does Moodle use cache control directives to benefit from proxies and browser caches?

- Segregate mysql to a dedicated DB server. Tune.

- Add additional webservers to offset the PHP processing load. Question: what data does Moodle store in its data directory? Should I share the data directory via NFS? Would it be possible to store this data in MySQL, potentially caching it on each webserver's filesystem?

- Add additional mysql servers in a master/slave setup. This only benefits performance if Moodle opens dbhandles in RO mode in a way that can be directed to the RO slaves. Question: does Moodle use db handles for RW and RO connections separately?

Lingering questions:

- Once the master mysql server is the bottleneck, is there any alternative?

- What is the impact of running postgresql instead of MySQL? Other RDBMSs?

regards,

martin
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Martín Langhoff

Re: Extreme scalability: Scaling out Moodle

by Gustav W Delius -