Student Self Enrollment Feature

Student Self Enrollment Feature

by Alex Fung -
Number of replies: 13

I am new to moodle and I am researching it to implement the system into our system.

I would like to ask if moodle have the feature which can let the student to enroll / drop the courses him/herself online, without any input from the system administrator? I think it is very common for universities that allow students to choose some of the many courses available based on the student's interest.

Thank you very much.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Alex Fung

Re: Student Self Enrollment Feature

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
Simple, the courses should not have "enrollment keys", that's all.

But you might not like it, in case everybody in the internet suddenly visit your courses wink

The point is the difference between
a. guests (anybody on the net)
b. users (have some sort of authentication)
c. participants (a user enrolled into a course)

What you might want is to allow category b to self-enroll but not the category a.
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Visvanath Ratnaweera

by Kyle Egan -

Hi,

Has anyone ever allowed self enrollment but disabled unenrollment- I don't want to loose the users completion data.

In reply to Kyle Egan

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

I see that you have had many help.  Just wanted to let you know that I do this in Moodle 2.1.  The way that (I think that) I disbled the ability to unenrol was by turning this feature off in the roles definition for "students".

In reply to Alex Fung

by tony deprato -
Forgive me ---

I feel like the real question is: How can I avoid all the work of uploading student information etc?

Maybe not you but someone else.

----------------