Social Constructionist pedagogy

Social Constructionist pedagogy

by Jonathan Benjoseph -
Number of replies: 7

I am a high school student and I was reading all the various articles on Social Constructionism on this and Martin's website and I very into the ideas behind it. I think that using social constructionist principles in the classroom in general could greatly help learning. I've seen examples of real life projects that utilize social contructionist principles (such as "Wikipedia") and how sucessful they are. One idea I had was that social constructionism could be used in a classroom to form their own WikiWiki of a specific subject. Students could write entries to it, modify other student's entries, etc. Some kind of WikiWiki module for Moodle would rock (is this similar to "workshop")? By the end of the year you'd have a very complete study guide for something that would be useful for an AP test. 

Anyone have any ideas on how to get the word of social constructionism out to teachers?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jonathan Benjoseph

Re: Social Constructionist pedagogy

by Bryan Williams -

Young Jedi, you are the future!  I can only hope there are several million more Jonathan Benjoseph's in this world.  Study the posts for how Forums are being used, and how some have (as you correctly guessed) are using the Workshop and Glossary modules.  Set up your own Moodle site (I will help you with server space if you need it), and SHOW your teachers what the future looks like.

Bryan

In reply to Bryan Williams

by Richard Treves -

Set up your own Moodle site (I will help you with server space if you need it), and SHOW your teachers what the future looks like.

smilesmilesmilesmilesmile

Thats a nice image:

'Teacher, teacher, teacher?"

"yes?"

"Can we have an interactive bit of cyber space to discuss our learning outside class"

"no, it would be impossible to set up/very expensive/it would take too much time..."