How do you deal with the challenge of drawing graphs and diagrams?

How do you deal with the challenge of drawing graphs and diagrams?

by John Isner -
Number of replies: 21
This is the second of three posts that I will make to this forum. All begin with "How do you deal with the challenge of..."

I'm preparing a talk on "Moodle for math and science" for the Southern (US) Moodle Moot 07 in February. Like most teachers, I work in a vacuum except for occasional contact with a few other (likewise isolated) teachers, and with the moodle.org forums. So I rely on YOU to tell me how you're dealing these challenges.

Drawing graphs and diagrams in Moodle is a challenge for the teacher, but a much greater challenge for the student. Here are my thoughts.

As a teacher, I can create a drawing in a generic drawing program (like Open Office Draw), or I can use a program specialized for math, (like GeoGebra, for graphing and 2-D geometric constructions), or I can use a screen capture program to capture someone else's diagram or graph. I can also use a pen tablet and draw the image by hand. In each case, I must export an image from the program and upload it to my course so that I can link to it from an activity or resource. There are many steps, and most of them are made outside of Moodle.

Incidentally, I recently discovered how to embed dynamic GeoGebra worksheets as an alternative to static images. This is a very appealing option.

The student has access to many of the same diagramming and graphing tools, but unfortunately has nowhere to store the images, unless they are embedded in a document submitted as an "upload assignment." The student cannot, for example, include a diagram in an essay question on a quiz or lesson, or in a journal entry, online assignment, blog entry, etc. (Admittedly, a single image can be included in a forum post).

What's the solution for the student? Again, is it paper and pencil?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to John Isner