Can one explain pros/cons (differences) about moodle forum and phpbb

Can one explain pros/cons (differences) about moodle forum and phpbb

by Timothy Ridy -
Number of replies: 2
Hi all,

at the moment, I'm using phpbb and be very young to moodle. At a detailed glance i've nothing found within moodle or the web, that let me descide what forum (moodle forum or phpbb) to use in future.

Is anyone out there knowing both systems who can help with a list of deltas and/or pros and cons?

Thx, Tim
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Timothy Ridy

Re: Can one explain pros/cons (differences) about moodle forum and phpbb

by Timothy Takemoto -

I am no expert on PHPBB but, here are a few things that spring to mind when comparing them. I have never moderated phpbb (only invision). I can tell I am going to miss out a lot of features on both sides. It is often difficult to say when a feature is an advantage or limitation  but I have given my subjective opinion of advantages in pink. And I am not up to date on moodle 1.7 roles. I think that phpbb may have some mass pruning and user management features that I have no idea about. 

Moodle

PHPBB

Integrated with the Moodle LMS and all sort of educational functionality

(Perhaps there is a hack somewhere to allow the same authentication to be used on both systems but it will not be integrated in the ways outlined below)
Posts can be graded via a drop down menu no grading I am aware of
Posts can be graded using a custom scale of non numeric strings no grading I am aware of
The submission period can be set, such that only posts made within a particular time slot can recieve a grade. no grading I am aware of
The grade can be made viewable only the teacher, only the student and the teacher, by everyone in the posters group and the teacher, or by everyone. no grading that I am aware of
The grade is integrated into a gradebook with the grades of all the other learning activities. no grading that I am aware of