Time tracking - possible?

Time tracking - possible?

by Denys Kotseba -
Number of replies: 6
Hi,
I am new to Moodle and so far could not figure out if such feature as time-tracking is available. In other words, 1) is there a way to define that a certain course must be accomplished within a given time and 2) is there a way to chek if students fit in the given time (or at least how much time an individual student spent for studying the course)?

Thanks in advance!
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Denys Kotseba

Re: Time tracking - possible?

by Chris Collman -
Picture of Documentation writers
Hi Denys,
Course is large measure for Moodle. A Moodle course is usually made up of activities and resources. An activity could be a lesson. Since you posted this in the Lesson forum, I am going to use the word Lesson instead of course (MoodleDOC links are fighting me today so I will just show them).

1) There are (http://docs.moodle.org/en/Adding/editing a lesson") lesson settings under that set a (http://docs.moodle.org/en/Adding/editing_a_lesson#Timed) time limit in the lesson. There is a lesson setting which makes entry into a lesson (http://docs.moodle.org/en/Adding/editing_a_lesson) dependent upon spending time in a previous lesson. There are also lesson settings which can open and close the lesson by a very specific date & time window (which is not what you are asking but this is also a course setting feature).

2) There are logs (reports) which can tell you how long a student spends in a particular lesson page. Someone else will have to point out a report which will summarize the log by student/activity-resource in time.

There is not a database field which gives a running time for each student in a course, or each lesson. The log database notes each event (for example page visited in a lesson) by the time it took place.

Hope this helps.

by Bernard Boucher -
Hi Denys,
welcome to Mooldesmile