Using Scales and a new Forum for "Using Moodle Lite"

Using Scales and a new Forum for "Using Moodle Lite"

by Steve Jeaco -
Number of replies: 14

I'm fairly new to Moodle and the whole open source - community thing.

I must say I love everything about it so far.  And Moodle is great.

I've noticed that moderators on the Using Moodle Forum often get a little impatient with users who fail to search the site adequately before posting up their question.

I do understand that moderators are getting more and more busy as Moodle gets more popular.  As a language teacher myself, I am aware though that if you have a problem like "blank page", there are several different words you might try ("empty screen", "nothing appears", "missing webpage") and anyone without the right jargon (or knowledge of English) may find it hard to find stuff quickly.

I wonder whether there could/should be an alternative Using Moodle Lite forum (I'll leave someone else to work on a better title) where a custom scale is used for rating the posts.

If something like this was set up...

Forum Redirector
Go to documentation, Search forums, Search bug tracker, Search feature tracker, Add as new forum topic, Add as new bug, Add as new feature

Moderators could choose feedback from a drop down list and everyone would see the quick response.  They read the posts anyway, so this would save time typing "Try searching the documentation..." or "Please report this as a bug" etc.

Just an idea.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Steve Jeaco

Re: Using Scales and a new Forum for "Using Moodle Lite"

by Art Lader -
Hello, Steve,

I think that your idea has merit. Thanks for posting it.

Regards,
Art
In reply to Steve Jeaco

by Julian Ridden -
Having just 're-pointed' htree users I am now feeling rather guilty. black eye

I think the custom scale is a great idea and saves from lots of those 'do this', or 'search here' style posts.

Cheers
In reply to Steve Jeaco

by Frances Bell -
Sounds good to me too wink