php Accelerator (APC) help needed

php Accelerator (APC) help needed

by Henry Johnson -
Number of replies: 11
Hi,

I'm new to running Moodle and we have just set up our school server running Ubuntu Linux 6.06 LTS with the 2.6.15-26-686 symmetrical multi-processor preemptive kernel. Moodle version is 1.6.1, running on Apache 2.0.55 with PHP 5.1.2 and MySQL 5.0.22

As it is getting an exponential increase in usage, I thought it would be a good idea to install the apc php accelerator. I used this installation guide:

http://baheyeldin.com/technology/linux/installing-php-apc-on-ubuntu-dapper-and-debian.html

When I enable the accelerator (extension=apc.so in php.ini) I get these errors at the top of the moodle pages as well as other stuff being broken, like not being able to load php.info

Warning: filename: typo3/class.t3lib_cs.php,
exec_fname: /usr/share/moodle/lib/textlib.class.php,
filepath: /usr/share/moodle/lib/typo3/class.t3lib_cs.php
in /usr/share/moodle/lib/textlib.class.php on line 28

Warning: filename: typo3/class.t3lib_div.php,
exec_fname: /usr/share/moodle/lib/textlib.class.php,
filepath: /usr/share/moodle/lib/typo3/class.t3lib_div.php
in /usr/share/moodle/lib/textlib.class.php on line 29

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by
(output started at /usr/share/moodle/lib/textlib.class.php:28)
in /usr/share/moodle/lib/setup.php on line 431

It maybe a bug in apc-3.0.11, but it maybe the moodle php code doesn't like apc.  Line 431 in setup.php has to do with cookies, and the other lines are "require once".

Thanks for any help
Henry

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Henry Johnson

Re: php Accelerator (APC) help needed

by Bill White -
Hi Henry,

This not the answer, I am having the same problem as you are except that I have only 2 errors on my pages: