can we develop Moodle using Java?

can we develop Moodle using Java?

by Niranjan Thota -
Number of replies: 13
Hi ,
I'm new to Moodle. I want to know whether can we develop Moodle using Java. because i'm a java developer.

Thanks in advance.
Niranjan
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Niranjan Thota

Re: can we develop Moodle using Java?

by Samuli Karevaara -
The short answer would be "no". Or at least it get's quite cumbersome. Moodle is moslty coded with PHP. But some parts of Moodle might be able to interact with some services made with Java. Do you have anything specific in mind? 
In reply to Samuli Karevaara

by Niranjan Thota -
Thanks for your quick reply.
 i'm looking for framework where php is ruled out and will use java extensively in depth. from your reply , i feel its not comfortable to go with Moodle. What do you suggest?

by Dan Stowell -
If all you're interested in is Java then Moodle ain't for you, since its infrastructure is PHP. Sakai is Java-powered, try that.

Although, as others have already commented, a Java programmer wouldn't find it difficult to learn PHP. The syntax of the language has a lot of similarities.

by Teemu Sumi -
I have a feeling that Samuli knows Java. Is it so? wink

Teemu
In reply to Teemu Sumi

by Samuli Karevaara -
Based on the smiley you might be confusing me with somebody else...?

I do know Java, but I'm not a guru by any means. Googling for "samuli java" won't find me in the top 50 results smile

by Janne Mikkonen -
I'm "java" guru ( the coffee means ) wink I don't count cups, but kettles ( or pans, which one is correct to use with coffee??? )...
In reply to Janne Mikkonen

by Samuli Karevaara -
I can see you are midway through your third pot, erm, kettle (pannu prkl) and it's just 11 am. big grin

Okay, sorry for messing up this thread. But Janne started it *me points fingers*.

by Brian Sea -