Upgrading to 1.5.4 on my ISP - question

Upgrading to 1.5.4 on my ISP - question

by Jim Burnard -
Number of replies: 12

Hi folks,

I'm very new at this...  I have an older version of Moodle running on my ISP.  I don't have any data I care to back up or anything, maybe just a theme or two.  Can someone direct me to what folders/files I need to upload and replace?  I've been reading http://docs.moodle.org/en/Upgrading but honestly things like

mv moodle moodle.backup
tar xvzf moodle-1.1.tgz

are greek to me. 

Since I'm not worried about losing anything at this point can I just upload the appropriate files to the correct directories and then go to the admin page to start the upgrade?

Sorry so lost... hopefully that will change soon!  Thanks in advance!

Jim

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jim Burnard

Re: Upgrading to 1.5.4 on my ISP - question

by Steve Hyndman -

Jim,

The short answer is Yes.

Just rename your current moodle directory to something else then upload your new moodle directory and rename it what your old directory was named. Then copy over your config.php file from the old directory and visit moodle/admin.

That should do the trick....copy over any themes if you want to use them in your new install.

Once you are sure your new install is working, then you can safely delete your old directory....I usually keep my old directory just in case I forget some hacks.

Steve

In reply to Steve Hyndman

by Jim Burnard -
Thank you much Steve!
In reply to Jim Burnard

by Jim Burnard -

Hhmm, well I did the above, went to the admin page and got this message....  any thoughts?

Warning: main(): Unable to access /home/burnardw/public_html/ecaptain/lib/setup.php in /home/burnardw/public_html/ecaptain/config.php on line 15

Warning: main(/home/burnardw/public_html/ecaptain/lib/setup.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/burnardw/public_html/ecaptain/config.php on line 15