Turning Point Software & RFID Clickers

Turning Point Software & RFID Clickers

by Dave Bour -
Number of replies: 13
I am both a student and employee of Illinois State University.  I work as a web developer for the Biology Department and am redesigning a site that first year students will use.  I wanted to integrate Moodle as a resource for professors and students alike, but the department may be turning to Web CT.  One major factor is if Moodle can work with RFID clickers, specifically from ones used by Turning Point software:  http://www.turningtechnologies.com/

I checked the documentation and forums, but could not find an answer.  Is it possible to have Moodle accept responses from students via RFID clickers?  Thank you.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Dave Bour

Re: Turning Point Software & RFID Clickers

by Tony Hursh -
Maybe someone else knows how to do this.... this is just a quick take from reading ther web site.

It looks like their software is set up to work with Microsoft Office and/or WebCT/Blackboard/BlackWeb (only). I don't see any public API for integrating it into other applications.

You *might* be able to use VBA to snarf the data out of Excel and send it the Moodle server (using the WebBrowser control or the Internet Transfer Control), but it wouldn't be pretty.

Have you asked the manufacturer if they'd consider doing a Moodle integration (or, alternatively, releasing some kind of open API so someone else can do it)?

In reply to Tony Hursh

by Miles Berry -
We've used the IR versions with Office, and got as far as exporting the multichoice questions to re-use as Moodle quizzes. It would be relatively easy to move grades across from TP to Moodle, but it looked pretty horrendous to populate Moodle's quiz attempt database with TP responsed. I'm not aware of a public API, and so automating the process would be quite a lot of work.