ajax inclussion in moodle

ajax inclussion in moodle

by angel díaz -
Number of replies: 9
hello,
I am a student of the university pompeu fabra (Barcelona) and in one of our subjets we must of project increase the functionalities of moodle.

in concrete to my it has touched the following thing to me :
somebody has tried sometimes to do that moodle loaded the information of the forums through ajax?

excuse the annoyances to that him cannot interest the message.

greetings!
Average of ratings: -
In reply to angel díaz

Re: ajax inclussion in moodle

by Gustav W Delius -
There is a lot of potential for improving the Moodle interface with Ajax. When you search for 'Ajax' in the forums you will find what other people have suggested.
In reply to Gustav W Delius

by Janne Mikkonen -
Really bad joke: don't know what ajax has to do with Moodle?
In reply to Janne Mikkonen

by Darren Smith -
I agree - Us brits don't see how Ajax can benifit Moodle either.
In reply to angel díaz

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hello Angel,

I don't know how Moodle can benefit from Ajax, but I've only just discovered the little XMLHTTPRequest object which goes with Ajax technology. It really saved my day. I had a vocabulary learning/testing exercise written in HTML which extracted its data from an XML file. Basically a list of English words and a list of their French equivalents, nothing fancy see extract below.

<vocablist>
<voc>
<english>ability</english>
<french>capacité</french>
</voc>
<voc>
<english>able</english>
<french>capable</french>
</voc>
etc.
</vocablist>

I had succeeded in making an HTML + Javascript file which worked perfectly in MSIE, using the proprietary MSIE "data island" as in :

<XML ID="vocablist" SRC="vocablist.xml"></XML>