Question about contributing

Question about contributing

by Laura Fernandez Moran -
Number of replies: 13

Hi,

I'm new to Moodle and I'm a software engineer looking to be a contributor. Do I need to fill out a contributor license agreement (CLA)? I couldn't find anything in the developer documentation. 

Thank you,

Laura

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Laura Fernandez Moran

Re: Question about contributing

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
TL:DR No
(What cool abbreviation can I use to say something like, Got Time Willing to Read?
Moodle is made available under the Gnu Public License (GPL) https://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-3.0.html
Which brings four freedoms

• Run the software for any purpose;
  • Study how the software works through access to source code and to freely adapt it;
  • Redistribute copies of the software to anyone;
  • Change the software, and redistribute those changes to anyone

To get code into core you don't have to sign anything, you need to provide good useful code that conforms to the standards and some tact and patience.

Having said that plenty of people contribute without getting code into core so you don't necessarily need tact, but you will probably need patience because coding for Moodle requires learning some new* and interesting API's.

*(and by new I include some very old API's looking at you mforms)

Average of ratings: Useful (3)
In reply to Laura Fernandez Moran

by Dominique Bauer -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
In my opinion, there are tons of improvements that could be made to quiz questions. Here's why.

Questions in Moodle, and probably other LMSs, seem to have been developed backwards. That is to say according to the methods of programmers, to then be imposed on users.