EDUMY ON STANDALONE PC

EDUMY ON STANDALONE PC

by Food Hub -
Number of replies: 9

Goodmorning everybody.

This is my first post on the forum and I'm completely new to Moodle world, so sorry for every eventual error on my explanation.

I'm doing some technical tests to discover the exciting potentials of Moodle: in particular I've installed a simplified version of Moodle in order to bypass database and server configuration and to run Moodle from localhost on a standalone PC Desktop  (I can't tell you precisely what kind of version I've installed but there are two icons named Start Moodle and Stop Moodle).

I've discovered the themes and I tried to install a simple and free theme: its name is Adaptable. I've installed it simply by copying its folder into the folder server/moodle/theme (I don't know wether it is the right way to install a theme) and after restarting the server I could see between the themes also Adaptable and I switched to it.

By navigating other themes I discovered Edumy: it's not free but I want to try it.

This is the question: I watched many online tutorials about its installation and seems to be really difficult in my situation: I haven't a site manager, phpmyadmin neither a database, so I wanted to know wether it is possibile to install in my test and if so how.

Thank you in advance and sorry for possibile erros, I remain available to answer for many details about my situation and configuration

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Food Hub

Re: EDUMY ON STANDALONE PC

by Gareth J Barnard -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
Hi,

If you have a 'Start' and a 'Stop' Moodle option then you've installed a 'AMP' package on Windows / Mac?? And that will gave you a database. So what have you installed? And if it is the sort of thing I think you've installed, then you should be able to install any Moodle plugin.