Negative Grading

Negative Grading

Akash Kumar -
Erantzun kopurua: 8
Hi,

I am working on an e-learning project for a coaching institute where i studied for college entrance examinations. I chose moodle because i heard and read a lot about it online. It indeed is a nice application for e-learning and provides a lot of functionality. Everything would have been great had i not hit a roadblock in the form of negative grading. Apparently the quiz module does not support negative marking for non-adaptive single attempt tests.

Moodle doesn't allow for overall negating marking for a question and therefore for the whole test. This is contrary to the system used in many state and nationwide exams that have ranking system and students get ranks based even on their overall negative grade! Therefore, i want the option to give negative marks for a question if the student selects wrong option(s). Yes, a student can get overall negative marks in such a test. Please take a look at the following sample questions to get an idea of what i am talking about:

In Multiple Choice Multiple Answer Questions:
----------------------------------------------

One foot equals?

(a) 12 in          +50% (Correct)
(b) 30.48 cm    +50% (Correct)
(c) 0.56 yard    -50% (Incorrect)
(d) 0.13 mile    -50% (Incorrect)

First off, I want to have the choice to select partial/non-partial grading for correct options when i create a new question. Please read below and this would make much more sense.

Let's consider the scenarios when partial grading is enabled:

when student selects only (a) or (b), he gets +50%
when student selects (a) and (b), he gets 100%
when student selects (c) or (d), he gets -50%
when student selects (c) and (d), he gets -100%
when student selects (a), (b) and (c), he gets +50%
when student selects (a), (b) and (d), he gets +50%
when student selects (a), (b), (c) and (d) he gets 0%
when student selects ((a) or (b)) and ((c) or(d)), he gets 0%