A two-level dictionary?

A two-level dictionary?

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Number of replies: 3
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators

Hi all

I am new to the glossary/dictionary/filter landscape. Checked https://docs.moodle.org/en/Glossary_FAQ though without success.

I have added a glossary to a course and set it to type "Secondary glossary", "Allow comments on entries" and "Automatically link glossary entries". Now when I set auto-linking for a concept it gets highlighted. The mouse-over shows me the name of the glossary and the concept (again). A click shows me the concept on a pop-up.

This glossary is in fact a dictionary between two languages. I want the mouse-over to show me the "definition" which is the word for the concept in the other language. The click should bring a pop-up containing a longer text, like what it does now.

Is that possible?

I am using Moodle rel. 3.9.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Visvanath Ratnaweera

Re: A two-level dictionary?

Found this post in the meantime: Re: Definition on hover. So, something not readily available in standard Moodle?

Anyway, to explain the idea by example:
- say the concept is "Betriebssystem"
- mouse-over should show "operating system"
- mouse click should bring "An operating system (OS) is system software that manages computer hardware, software resources, and provides common services for computer programs. (Wikipedia)" in a pop-up window
In reply to Visvanath Ratnaweera

by Dave Sherwin -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers
I really like this concept - quick info on mouse-over while a click shows pop-up with definition.