XML parsing

XML parsing

av Juliette Culver -
Antal svar: 19
Thought it was about time I said hello here! I'm a new Moodle developer at the Open University, but working on an externally-funded project rather than as part of the main Moodle team at the OU. The project is a joint one with the folk from LAMS and the work I'm doing is related to the management of groups.

I'm relatively new to PHP too and wanted to ask for some advice about parsing XML in PHP. I was looking at Dan Stowell's IMS Enterprise code and there's a comment there saying that there are differences between XML parsing in PHP4 and PHP5 so he uses regular expressions instead. Is this the best route to go or should I just use expat lib?

Genomsnitt av betyg:Useful (1)
Som svar till Juliette Culver

Re: XML parsing

av Dan Stowell -
Hi Juliette - welcome to the forums.

Actually, I didn't have any PHP 5 systems available at the time I wrote the script, but having discovered that the expat stuff seems to work the same in PHP 4 and PHP 5, I don't think there's actually any reason to avoid expat. I used expat for the WebCT import code and it works on either version.

(I was slightly misled by some articles suggesting that XML handling was "completely changed" in PHP 5.)

I'm happy to leave the IMS Enterprise code the way it is, since it works fast enough and in fact I find it easier to read, understand, and modify than expat-based code.
Som svar till Dan Stowell

av Juliette Culver -
I must admit and had a quick look and couldn't spot the difference between how expat worked for PHP4 and PHP5. I'm glad I wasn't being totally blind!

I think I'd actually find the code quicker and easier to write using regular expressions but suspect that most people would find it easier to read and maintain if I don't.

By the way, one of the things we're doing is an IMS Enterprises Services / IMS Enterprise type web services client in case you're interested. I presume you know about the MINTED project at Sussex too?