How does Moodle create topics and activities in php?

How does Moodle create topics and activities in php?

by James Poly -
Number of replies: 3

I am new with moodle and I would like to know how Moodle creates topics and activities with php language.

In particular I'm interested in how Moodle create an activity subsequent an another.

I know how create an activity with moodle and a subsequent activtity but I don't know how function in php.

Is there a guide?

Cheers,

James

Average of ratings: -
In reply to James Poly

Re: How does Moodle create topics and activities in php?

by Mark Johnson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

This is a fairly fundamental part of Moodle's core code, so you're unlikely to find a guide to how it's done, since it's not a part most developers would touch under normal circumstances.

You might find it useful to understand how Course format plugins work: https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Course_formats

More generally, the code Moodle uses for a specific task is usually fairly transparent. There's no "routing" that you see in modern PHP frameworks - each page is a .php script, and if you want to find out how an change performed by a page is done in code, you can look at that page and follow the process through. You might find it useful to have an interactive debugger like Xdebug set up to follow a process through step-by-step.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to James Poly

by Benjamin Ellis -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Hi,