Best features to look for

Best features to look for

by Kevin Westbrook -
Number of replies: 10

I hope I can keep this reasonably short!

I have gone through the process of looking for the best theme for my needs. I am pretty much bored with every theme being "beautiful" and "smooth" and all the other adjectives that seem to be used in every description. For reasons that are not important here, I think I need to change my theme, so I thought I would search in a different way.

A bit of background. I am a one-man-band offering training to individuals and small groups in the area of language learning and teaching. The site is pretty much empty apart from one course so far, which is still in development, so it is a blank canvas really. It has never been used for live training, so I have complete flexibility to change things. I am no programmer, but I am happy playing with little bits of CSS and HTML, preferably with instructions. I might need to tailor courses for certain customers in terms of look, with their own logo for example.

My question is really about what are the best features to look for in a theme? What really makes a difference? What isn't really useful? Or should I just go for Boost because it is well developed and presumably bullet-proof? Happy to hear of example themes, but I am most interested in features in general rather than a theme recommendation.

Hope that makes sense and I look forward to any input.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Kevin Westbrook

Re: Best features to look for

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
Do you like your car painted white, blue, or red?

If you are new to Moodle, consider sticking with the standard Boost theme. Get used to Moodle first, then worry about making it look better later. This is my simple advice. Yes, I understand that sometimes beauty comes before functionality.
Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Rick Jerz

by Richard Oelmann -