Moodle for Desktop Issues

Moodle for Desktop Issues

by Chase Rowley -
Number of replies: 8

Hello!

I have been utilizing the moodle for desktop app since August of 2020 but have been having issues as of two days ago. When I try to open the app on my MacBook Air, it will do one of the following, in no particular order:

• App begins to load, secondary screen labeled moodlemobile* pops up, neither page loads content
  • App begins to load, secondary screen labeled moodlemobile* then pops up, Desktop page load slightly (sidebar and options to click 'My Courses') but then stops and nothing is clickable
  • Neither page pops up, computer crashes and restarts. 

*moodlemobile has never popped up previously

I have deleted the app from my computer and redownloaded it, fully restarted my computer with and without the app and so far nothing is working. 

I downloaded the app for the Apple Store, is it currently version 3.9.2 and I am using it on my Macbook Air. Let me know if you need any more information or if anyone is having similar issues and knows how to troubleshoot. Thank you!

Attachment Screen Shot 2021-02-01 at 11.09.14 AM.jpg
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Chase Rowley

Re: Moodle for Desktop Issues

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
Any connection to this announcement Moodle Desktop to be discontinued?
In reply to Visvanath Ratnaweera

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
The purpose of Moodle for Desktop has always been lost on me - accept, perhaps, as a curiousity.

Why would you when the web version exists?
In reply to Howard Miller

by Helen Foster -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators