MS Sharepoint VS. Moodle

Re: MS Sharepoint VS. Moodle

by Dubs DJ -
Number of replies: 8

I would just like to add my bit about SharePoint Vs Moodle. I am an IT manager and I have experience in setting up Moodle in a previous post. When I started at my new post they were also running moodle. The problem with Moodle is that its just too complicated to do the simple things like adding links / files etc, so much that absolutely nobody bothered to use it.. I know there are people that will say no its not complicated but in my honest opinion yes it is too fiddly..

So I set up SharePoint 2010 at my school and yes it was quite tricky to set it up initially and configuring it properly is very tough, I have spent hours on forums to get it up and running properly.

But I have to say that it was worth it, I have had a surge in content being added by students and teachers who were simply afraid of moodle.. They add links add assignments (Yes you can have assignments in sharepoint using Sharepoint learning kit) You can even add scorm packages! The only thing it lacks as standard is reporting functionality on the assignments but this isn't really an issue at my school anyway.

The beauty of Sharepoint is that you can easily set up document areas and share them due to the ease of assigning very fine tuned permissions on just about everything, it makes things so easy to manage.

Not to mention the Google style sharepoint search system which is absolutely brilliant!