How are grades calculated?

How are grades calculated?

by Michael Knichel -
Number of replies: 2
I am new to Moodle and have a gradebook question.

It looks like grades for a category are calculated based on a points method?  Then each category is weighted as per my choice?  

So for example, I have a few categories that have several assignments in them (like labs and exams).  I want my Labs to be worth 25% of the overall grade and exams to be worth 35%.  As long as each lab is worth the same amount (say 100 pts) then the points calculation method will be the same as using an average method?

My dilemma is this... Each lab assignment may have different labs for them.  Chapter 1 might have 3 labs to complete and chapter 2 might have 6.  I still want them to carry the same weight, Chapter 1 labs is worth the same towards the Labs average as Chapter 2 labs.  The only way I see to do this is to set the points for Chapter 1 labs and Chapter 2 labs to the same value (say 100 pts).  Is this correct?  I cannot set the Chapter 1 points to 300 and Chapter 2 points to 600 otherwise the chapter 2 labs have more effect on the overall grade, right?

The way I have always graded is to set the number of points an assignment is worth to whatever I want (max score).  Then to calculate the lab average, my formula converts each individual assignment to a % adds them up and divides by the number of labs.  In this method, each lab is worth the same amount.  The gradebook in Moodle does not appear to work this way by default.  Is there a way to change this behavior? OR am I forced to make each lab worth the same # of points (say 100) and covert the grades manually?

Thanks is advance,
MK
In reply to Michael Knichel

Re: How are grades calculated?

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers