Disc is full

Disc is full

by YASHODHAM PUBLIC SCHOOL -
Number of replies: 12

I am using moodle 3.9.

I am unable to increase storage space . My server is having the storage of 120GB. 

Around 1200 students are working and submitting the assignment in the form of images 

Please give me a solution. Remember I am just a Math teacher

Average of ratings: -
In reply to YASHODHAM PUBLIC SCHOOL

Re: Disc is full

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
Let's see...

Let a = number of students, let b = number of pictures per student, c = average size of the picture, and g = size of the server.

Then, if a * b * c > g, you have a problem.

So, you need to reduce either a, b, or c, or increase g.

1. Why can you not increase g?  One might say that you have not calculated your needs appropriately, and that you undersized your server, based upon what you want to do.
  2. I assume that you cannot decrease a, that a is outside of your control.
  3. Decreasing b is possible, but you would need to scale back on how many pictures you allow.  In some Moodle activities, like forums, you can set a limit to the number of attachments.  You also have to ask yourself if students are over-submitting, by exploring what they are submitting.  This could take some t, where t = time.
  4. c is an interesting variable.  If students are submitting photos from their smartphones, these photos are probably much larger than what is needed for the assignment.  But getting students to learn how to reduce photo sizes, or even picture sizes, is challenging.  There are settings in Moodle and in some Moodle activities to control the maximum upload size, which might help.