Linking a pdf file from within a moodle Resource-Page

Linking a pdf file from within a moodle Resource-Page

by Henry Wilde -
Number of replies: 8

I am a volunteer math tutor for GED students trying to use Moodle 3.9.1 hosted on IONOS.com using linux and mysql.

Question.  

I use lots (100s) of pdf files of worksheets for math problems.  I want to be able to upload the pdf files somehow and then link to them from a Resource-Page.  It should look like this to the user.

1. Addition 2x2
  2. Addition 4x4
  3. Subtraction 2x2
  4. Subtraction 4x4 Word Problems

I do not want to add each pdf file as a Resource-File since that makes the pages very long and difficult to read.  I have tried adding the file as a Resource-File, but I am unable to see how to link to it from the Resource-Page.  I have tried making a group of files an Assignment, but that looks rather clunky.  I have also tried Resource-Folder without success.

Right now, I am using a separate directory on the site that I created and maintain via FTP.  It works, but will not work if I add other tutors.

Is there an easy way to do this?  I appreciate your help.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Henry Wilde

Re: Linking a pdf file from within a moodle Resource-Page

by Jon Bolton -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
I would add them all as Resource-Files, probably in a separate topic of their own at the end of your course. Use Stealth mode to hide them but make them available, and then create a list of hyperlinks to the relevant files wherever you need it.

See https://docs.moodle.org/39/en/Stealth_activities
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Jon Bolton

by Henry Wilde -
Thanks Jon. I appreciate the advice and the link. I'm not sure what I'm going to do, but I now know it is possible. Thanks agin.
In reply to Henry Wilde

by AL Rachels -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Hi Henry,