Formulas question type in inorganic nomenclature

Formulas question type in inorganic nomenclature

by Agustín Sánchiz -
Number of replies: 8

Hello,

I am a chemistry teacher at a high school, and I am thinking about the possibility of using question type to elaborate chemical nomenclature questions. 

I want to summarize in a single question all the possible binary compounds that the elements with oxidation state +1 can form with oxygen, and thus save a lot of time and effort, as it would be able to summarize seven possible issues in one. Then I could repeat the process for the chemical elements with oxidation state +2, +3, etc.

First, I have created a random variable like this: 

U = {"lithium", "sodium", "potassium", "rubidium", "cesium", "silver", "gold"};

In the statement I have put the following:

Name the following compound: di{U} monoxide.

In this way I got a random statement that encompasses all possible names. 

I have the problem when I want to create a group of variables for the answers. 

I've thought of a variable like that:

V=["Li","Na","K","Rb","Cs","Ag","Au"]

In this way the possible correct answers correspond to the general formula: V₂O.

But unfortunately my knowledge on this type of issue is so basic that I can't find a way to relate both groups of variables. 

For example, if the program randomly chooses " lithium", how can we associate to that first variable ("lithium") the other variable of the second set ( the symbol "Li")?

And there I am, stranded like a ship. If you could help me I would be very grateful.

Regards

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Agustín Sánchiz

Re: Formulas question type in inorganic nomenclature

by Dominique Bauer -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Hello Agustín,

Define a random index in Random variables: (indexes start at 0 and the last one is not included)

i = {0:7};