Mobile App - Changing behaviour of 'Back' button

Mobile App - Changing behaviour of 'Back' button

by Conn Warwicker -
Number of replies: 0
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi,

I am currently working on a request for a client's mobile moodle app.

At the bottom of each course they have an 'FAQ' link to a Page module somewhere else on the site, with some key FAQ information.

When a user clicks this, they are taken to said Page module. However, when they then click Back, instead of returning to the course they came from, they are taken to the site home. I noticed that when clicking the FAQ link, the page briefly changes to Site Home, before loading the Page module.

Client wants this to be changed so that when clicking back from the Page module, users are returned to the course they clicked it from, instead of Site Home.

I am totally new to all mobile development and have never looked at the moodle app before, so I am currently trying to work out how this all works...

When clicking the link to the module, these seems to go through:

- /src/core/contentlinks/classes/module-index-handler.ts 

The getActions() method is called, passing in the 'url' of the module to go to. Though the 'courseId' argument is undefined here.

This then calls: 'this.courseHelper.navigateToModule()''

Which leads to:

- /src/core/course/providers/helper.ts

Which eventually ends up going into this if statement:

if (courseId == site.getSiteHomeId()) {

// Check if site home is available.

return this.siteHomeProvider.isAvailable().then(() => {

this.loginHelper.redirect('CoreSiteHomeIndexPage', params, siteId);

});

} 

Both of those 'courseId' and 'site.getSiteHomeId()' return 'undefined' in the debugging window, I am not sure if that is expected or not, but that's why it goes into that statement.

So then it calls: 'this.loginHelper.redirect()''

- /src/core/login/providers/helper.ts

Which in turn ends up calling: 'this.loadPageInMainMenu(page, params);'