Moodle workload capabilities

Moodle workload capabilities

by Benjamin Kraft -
Number of replies: 7

Hey everyone,

I hope this is the right place to ask these questions. If not, please feel free to move this entry to the appropriate section. I've read the performance FAQ but I'm afraid I lack the technical understanding to answer the questions myself.

I am a student at an german university that heavily relies on moodle, especially for course-registration.

Registration-days are, to put it mildly, absolutely disastrous. Here is how it works:

- There is a moodle-room called "course-registration for semester xy"

- enrollment is done by poll

- Link to the poll for specific courses is unlocked at certain day/time

- registration is staggered like this:

Modul 16     - 22.09.2020 ab 17.00 Uhr
Modul 4       - 22.09.2020 ab 18.00 Uhr
Modul 6-2    - 22.09.2020 ab 19.00 Uhr
Modul 6-1   -  22.09.2020 ab 19.30 Uhr
Modul 7       - 22.09.2020 ab 20.00 Uhr
Modul 8       - 23.09.2020 ab 17.00 Uhr
Modul 11-1   - 23.09.2020 ab 18.00 Uhr
Modul 22    - 23.09.2020 ab 19.00 Uhr
Modul 9      - 24.09.2020 ab 16.00 Uhr
Modul 10    - 24.09.2020 ab 17.00 Uhr
Modul 18    - 24.09.2020 ab 18.00 Uhr
Modul 19    - 24.09.2020 ab 19.00 Uhr
Modul 12    - 25.09.2020 ab 16.00 Uhr
Modul 13    - 25.09.2020 ab 17.00 Uhr
Modul 14    - 25.09.2020 ab 18.00 Uhr
Modul 15    - 25.09.2020 ab 19.00 Uhr
Modul 20    - 25.09.2020 ab 20.00 Uhr

Currently there are ~15k students enrolled across ~ 30 faculties. The above schedule is from the biggest faculty, by far. So worst case scenario (highly unlikely imo) there are 15k simultanious server requests when registration links unlock. [I would generously guesstimate more like 5000 simultanious requests = 15k students divided by 30 faculties, multiplied by 10]. AFAIK moodle is hosted on a server on campus.