Formula Question - Blank Answers Causing Zero Marks

Formula Question - Blank Answers Causing Zero Marks

by Alexandra Trovato -
Number of replies: 14

Hello!

I hope that someone can help me with an issue I am having in Moodle for a formula type question. I am fairly new to this type of question and have minimal coding experience.

I have attached a 1-part question with three blanks within the part. I cannot separate the question into different parts because the third blank will award part marks based on the student responses in blank 1 and 2. The issue I am having is that if a student leaves any blank in the question empty, the question will automatically default to awarding zero marks (this has been the case with other questions I am working on).

For example:

• Blank 1 student inputs correct answer, Blank 2 student inputs incorrect answer, Blank 3 student inputs incorrect answer - the student should get 1 out of 3 marks for the first answer and this works
  • Blank 1 student inputs correct answer, Blank 2 student inputs incorrect answer, Blank 3 student inputs nothing (leave the space empty) - the student should get 1 out of 3 marks for the first answer; however, this does not work and the student is awarded zero marks
I know I can work around this by having instructions to put in a random value in the blanks to get part marks but I would really prefer not to rely on the students reading those instructions.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

We are running version 3.8.3.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Alexandra Trovato

Re: Formula Question - Blank Answers Causing Zero Marks

by Dominique Bauer -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
Hello Alexandra,

Here is what I suggest:

• Question behavior: Adaptive mode, so students can answer the questions one at a time.
  • Place the three questions in three separate parts.
  • Create two invisible answer boxes in the third part.