Sequential quiz - WCAG - legal

Sequential quiz - WCAG - legal

de Nilanjan Basu -
Número de respuestas: 21

Hello everyone,

I have recently received a guide from my university that indicates that using the sequential option in Moodle quizzes will run afoul of the Web accessibility guidelines (WCAG available at https://www.w3.org/TR/WCAG20/) and are therefore not allowed in the future. I understand that this is not just my university but has been happening in many other universities as well. Has anyone else experience this issue and have any insights / experiences to share on how this may play out? Thank you in advance for your input.

Promedio de valoraciones:Useful (1)
En respuesta a Nilanjan Basu

Re: Sequential quiz - WCAG - legal

de Rick Jerz -
Imagen de Particularly helpful Moodlers Imagen de Testers

I am not an expert on this, but I do note that the "G" in "WCAG" stands for "guidelines."  If it were a "legal" issue, the acronym should become WCAL.

But I know what you are going through.

de Tim Hunt -
Imagen de Core developers Imagen de Documentation writers Imagen de Particularly helpful Moodlers Imagen de Peer reviewers Imagen de Plugin developers
My main concern about the sequential option is that it is horrible pedagogy which reduces the opportunities for students to demonstrate good metacognitive skills. You don't have to use it.
En respuesta a Tim Hunt

de Germán Valero -
Imagen de Documentation writers Imagen de Particularly helpful Moodlers Imagen de Plugin developers Imagen de Testers Imagen de Translators
During this COVID epidemic, my (veterinary pathology) undergraduate students seem to have developed a great ability to communicate during online quizzes and share information.

This has caused an unprecedented increase in grades in quizzes, which clearly do nor correlate with their knowledge of the tested subjects.

I have also noticed a large increase in similarly-worded incorrect answers to essay questions.