Preventing download option for videos

Preventing download option for videos

by Innovix Solution -
Number of replies: 9

Hello All,

I am a newbie to Moodle. May i know how can we prevent downloading video from our Moodle site?We just want to allow the user for watching only.Thank you.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Innovix Solution

Re: Preventing download option for videos

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
You can't.

It's nothing to do with Moodle it's the way the internet works. If the data is sent to your PC then you can download it - usually very easily.

I will be as blunt as I usually am about this - if your business model relies on your students not being able to "steal" your videos then it's not a very good business model.

by Walter Byrd -
I think I found a way to do this.
I store my videos on box.com. The service has a feature to put the video within iframe tags to embed the video elsewhere. There is an option to make the video "view only."
This will not make the video absolutely secure from downloads, but at least there won't be a working download button.

I am not sure exactly how this works, but here is a sample:

<iframe src="https://app.box.com/embed/s/6i7fofilvtkcy9vvhqg9i6kpv6y6dlwl?sortColumn=date&view=list" width="800" height="550" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen webkitallowfullscreen msallowfullscreen></iframe>

For this to work, I cannot be logged in to Moodle as admin, and I cannot be logged in to box.com at all. Even closing a tab is not enough, I have to log out of box.com.

by Ram Freedman -
Hi,
I use vimeo to host such videos.
In vimeo paid plans you can set the Domain-level privacy so you will able to host a video only on your site and there will be no easy way to download it.