500 internal server error

500 internal server error

by fatima mazhar -
Number of replies: 11
i was installing a plugin "workflow report" on my moodle site. when i confirmed the installation it gave me http 500 error.
then it navigated back and cancelled the installation. then Home, Dashboard and admin site pages gave me http 500 error but other pages and accounts were working fine. Now my moodle site is totally not working. 

i checked my cpanel and file storage is 95%.
php version is PHP 7.3 (ea-php73).

this is my first time using moodle so i have no idea what this error is.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to fatima mazhar

Re: 500 internal server error

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
You need to check your web server's error log.

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Please see:

https://moodle.org/plugins/pluginversions.php?plugin=report_workflow

which states "This report is a companion to the Workflow block." so you must also install the block.

Suggest the only way to fix now ... is to manually install both the report and the block from the command line ... get the files/folders in place, ownerships/permissions set correctly, then use command line script in code/admin/cli/ called 'upgrade.php' to get past the error 500.

Error 500's do exist ... and there is a reference in your web service error logs ... has to be.  But, they might only provide hints/clues and won't be very useful.

One thing you've shared ... and by doing so you think it might be a factor is space ... 95% used means only 5% free .... but you've not converted % into actual numbers related to space. 

Download the 2 plugin zips needed to manually install the workflow.  How large are the zips?   Unzip the zips and see how much space the unzipped files/folders use up.