PowerShell Module

PowerShell Module

by Matt Hamilton -
Number of replies: 8

Hi gang,

Thought I'd post here since if you're using web services you might also be a PowerShell wonk like me.

I've created a Moodle module that uses the web services. We've been using it in production for the better part of this year with no issues. We use it to provision new users and enrol them in courses.

The module is open source and I'm happy to take suggestions (or pull requests) if there's functionality you need! You can find it on GitHub here: https://github.com/WodongaTAFE/PSMoodle and install it from the PowerShell Gallery using Install-Module.

Cheers,
Matt

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Matt Hamilton

Re: PowerShell Module

by Pieterjan Heyse -

Hi Matt, 

I'm a total novice with regards to Powershell and am currently fighting with powershell and the Moodle API to automatically provision a part of our Moodle installation. 

I have researched the API to find all the url's I need to make to do everythin I want, but am now thinking on how to proceed. I think there are 2 options, but maybe you can advise me on how to proceed? 

1) Use Invoke-restmethod to create everything manually

2) Expand on your modules

The second is much harder for me I think, what would your advise be to a novice powershell user? 

Thanks, 

Pieterjan Heyse

In reply to Pieterjan Heyse

by Matt Hamilton -
Happy to help! What part of the API that you use is missing from the PowerShell module? Maybe I can build something out. Feel free to log it as an "issue" on GitHub too!

by Pieterjan Heyse -
These are the calls I currently need and hacked some code together for:

core_course_create_categories
core_course_create_courses
core_group_create_groups
core_cohort_search_cohorts
local_ws_enrolcohort_add_instance
enrol_manual_enrol_users
core_course_import_course

By hacking I mean that I'm doing something like this for those calls:

$body['categories[0][name]'] = 'Test'
$body['categories[0][parent]'] = 0