Course-List View Enhancement

Course-List View Enhancement

by Phil S -
Number of replies: 3

Hey guys,

i'm pretty new to moodle and this will be my first forum post. first of all i hope that i made it to the correct forum category for my question.

the feature i should implement within moodle is an enhancement of the Course-List view (/course/index.php?categoryid={id}) 

out of the box the Course-Name will be displayed with options for Short-Name/expanded and so on... but that options are not enough for our requirements. in that list we should display, for example, start- and end-date per row or the name of the lecturer.

what would be the best practice to extend moodle for that requirements? i checked the core course/index.php and was able to "extend" the name string by start- and end-date but why i ended up here is - what if - we need, for example, datatables for that list - that would be a time consuming task  based on what i saw in the codebase.  

so should i rewrite parts of the core for our custom needs?  or is there a mature plugin? or do we have to, for example, somehow create a fully custom view that lives side by side with the other list - is that even a thing with moodle?

any help is much appreciated

have a nice one

EDIT:

is there a reason why that list is so minimal out of the box? even on the detail view there is just no information. example: our school client has written the lecturer names into the course title because otherwise, they would not know.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Phil S

Re: Course-List View Enhancement

by Patrick Lemaire -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
Hi Phil,
Could you tell us what version of Moodle do you use? The answers may change depending of the version.

Patrick
In reply to Patrick Lemaire

by Phil S -
Hey Patrick,

we use the version 3.8.2
In reply to Phil S

by AL Rachels -