Multiple-Choice Multiple Answer Bug! Or not?

Multiple-Choice Multiple Answer Bug! Or not?

by Geof Duncan -
Number of replies: 18
I just gave a quiz to a group of students. My question asked for students to choose two responses. One student chose three responses and was given full credit for the answer. Mind you, he did choose two answers that were correct - but, should he be given full credit for this?

Other solutions could be for the student to miss the entire question for not following directions, which might be a better solution. Otherwise, students could choose every answer in a multiple-choice multiple answer situation and get full credit every time!!
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Geof Duncan

Re: Multiple-Choice Multiple Answer Bug! Or not?

by . madea -

Hey, Geof...

I'm relatively new to this whole moodle environment, so I can only say what I do in this case.  I edit the question and decrement incorrect responses.  So, just as you probably had to attribute 50% to each of the two correct answers, assign a -50% (or some negative percentage) to the incorrect one.  Worked for me.

madea
madea@mmsi.com

In reply to Geof Duncan

by Richard Williamson -

This one puzzled me as well. What you need to do is, for example, if you have 2 correct answers out of 4: each correct answer should give 50%, each incorrect answer should give -50%.

Not ideal, but it's how I got round that issue.

In reply to Geof Duncan

by Gustav W Delius -
This is a common question. If someone has the time, perhaps they want to add this to the Quiz Frequently Asked Questions page. It is already mentioned in the documentation for the multichoice question but people will not necessarily find it there.
In reply to Gustav W Delius

by Geof Duncan -
This may be a common question, but, I'm not really thrilled with the solution... mixed