How to synchronize configurations

How to synchronize configurations

by Alex Seif -
Number of replies: 5

Hello, I'm a moodle noob.

We're currently customizing moodle to our needs, however a challenge I'm facing is that a lot of the customizations are configured through the admin panel (currently mainly in appearances).

The challenge here is 2 part

1. Having the same configurations across all members working on the project
  2. Deploying these configurations to our servers when done

We use git to manage our instance, we setup a child theme based on boost, so code change is managed, but how do you manage configurations (separate from courses and users)

We're using moodle/MOODLE_38_STABLE Moodle 3.8.1+ (Build: 20200214)

Any help would be appreciated.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Alex Seif

Re: How to synchronize configurations

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
It depends what you are trying to manage.

You could use https://moodle.org/plugins/block_admin_presets to import/export system configuration between sites.

Other than that, I'd normally recommend that any configuration that is essential to the operation of your custom code, should be deployed in the install.php or upgrade.php scripts for your plugins (e.g. I often use this to create custom user profile fields or custom roles that are required for the operation of a a particular plugin on a customer's site).

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Davo Smith

by Alex Seif -

Thank you for your replies.

Firstly: I came across that plugin, but the description didn't really convince me it's what I'm looking for. I will give it a shot smile