Scaling up

Scaling up

by John Fenig -
Number of replies: 15

Today we had an interesting discussion among friends and colleagues about the scalability of Moodle (I have to admit I am a complete newbie to the Moodle community).

The basic question we were debating was "What sort of IT infrastructure would be needed to cater for about 2-4 Million students" via one institution? And how much would that set-up actually cost? 

Whilst some of us are totally in favor of Moodle, others are a bit more skeptical and I just want to get a general feeling for it.

Cheers and have all a splendid evening

John

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to John Fenig

Re: Scaling up

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
This question is going somewhere... I'm torn between the Lounge and the Hardware and performance forum...
In reply to John Fenig

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Moodle scales (reasonably) easily by throwing hardware at the problem.

As ever, the question of how much of it you need depends on what those 2-4 million students (and that's quite a range right there) will be doing with it.
In reply to Howard Miller

by ben reynolds -
I'm replying just to avoid WOWing.
Howard, isn't the OU the only organization that works on this scale?
In reply to ben reynolds

by Howard Miller -
There are quite a few OU people around here who can speak for themselves, but I believe that this would be an order of magnitude larger than what even they do. I do recall hearing about an even larger site.

by Tim Hunt -